Commission History

The Springfield Water and Sewer Commission was established in July 1996, in accordance with Massachusetts General Laws Chapter 40N, by a vote of the Springfield City Council. The governing body of the Commission is a three-member Board of the Commissioners appointed by the Mayor of Springfield and approved by the City Council. The Commissioners are responsible for establishing the policies and procedures for efficient water and sewer operations.

In March 1997, employees of the former Springfield Water Department and Wastewater Division of the Springfield Department of Public Works were transferred to the newly formed Commission. Those employees administer, operate and maintain the water and wastewater systems. In 2000, the Commission entered into a 20-year service agreement with a private contractor for operations at the wastewater treatment plant and sewer pumping stations. The Commission owns the facilities and United Water currently operates those facilities.

The Commission's budget and workforce are organized by functional areas including Administration and Engineering; Water Supply, Treatment and Transmission; Water Distribution; Wastewater Collection; and Wastewater Treatment. Facilities are located at Borden Brook Reservoir, Cobble Mountain Reservoir, West Parish Filters, Provin Mountain Reservoir, Ludlow Reservoir, Colton Street Customer Field Service, Administration Building at Bondi's Island, and the Springfield Regional Wastewater Treatment Facility.

Our Mission

Our mission is to provide an adequate uninterrupted, high-quality supply of water to our customers, to collect and treat wastewater, and return clean water to the environment. While fulfilling our mission we strive to:

Water Service Map

Water Service Areas

The Commission serves a total population of about 250,000 with approximately 43,500 water services and 550 fire service accounts in Springfield and Ludlow. The Commission supplies water wholesale to the towns of Agawam, Longmeadow and East Longmeadow. In Westfield, Southwick, West Springfield, Chicopee and Wilbraham the Commission provides partial, peak demand or emergency service only.
Click here to download a PDF of our Water Service Map.

Sewer Service Map

Wastewater Treatment

The Commission collects and treats wastewater from over 36,000 households in the City of Springfield. Wastewater from Agawam, West Springfield, Longmeadow, East Longmeadow, Wilbraham and Ludlow is treated at the Springfield Regional Wastewater Treatment Plant at Bondi’s Island.
Click to download a PDF of our Wastewater Service Map.

Pay As You Go

Recent News And Updates