Private: Commission History
Board of Commissioners

The governing body of the Commission is a three-member Board of Commissioners responsible for establishing the policies and procedures for efficient water and sewer operations. They are appointed by the Mayor of Springfield and approved by the City Council. The current commissioners are William E. Leonard, Daniel Rodriguez, and Vanessa Otero.

The Commission’s first priority is protecting public health and safety. This is accomplished through efficient operation and maintenance of the water and wastewater systems, working with state and federal regulators, networking with water and wastewater associations, investigating and implementing new technologies, and staying informed on emerging issues.

The Springfield Water and Sewer Commission currently employs approximately 240 individuals. The Executive Director, Joshua D. Schimmel, administers daily operations. The Commission is not a City of Springfield department; however, The Commission works closely with City departments to provide rate payers with the best possible water and wastewater services.

If you wish to contact a Commission representative to ask questions about your water or sewer bill, installing a new water service or simply talk about a water or wastewater issue, you can reach us at 413-452-1300.